February 24, 2015
Jack Dalton Award

J. Smith Chaney is the 2014 recipient of the Jack Dalton Award. 

Chaney received the 2014 Jack Dalton Community Service Award tonight from the Board of Supervisors. He was joined by family and friends.  Ms. Lois Dalton, widow of the late Jack Dalton, was also in attendance to help present the award.

“Mr. Chaney has given generously of time and talents for our community,” said H.G. Vaughn, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors.  “His gift of time has helped many civic organizations and made the life of many of our citizens better.”

Chaney has provided thousands of hours of service, to numerous civic organizations in our community, including the Kiwanis Club, Martinsville Area Community Foundation, Habitat for Humanity, Boy Scouts of America, S.P.C.A., Virginia Museum of Natural History Foundation, Patrick Henry Community Foundation Board, Piedmont Arts Association, First Presbyterian Church of Martinsville, MARC Workshop, and Grace Network.  In addition to serving on the board of directors for many of these organizations, Mr. Chaney often gives of his skills in building construction and maintenance, financial management and computer support.  He is a founding member of the Smith River Singers, trombone player for the Martinsville Jazz Ensemble, and the technical director for the Wesley Senior Theatre.

The Jack Dalton Community Service Award annually goes to the Henry County resident who best demonstrates the exemplary community service that marked Dalton’s years of public service. Dalton served as a member of the Henry County Board of Supervisors for more than 24 years, and was serving as the Board Chairman at the time of his death on May 24, 2000.

Nominations for the Jack Dalton Award were solicited from community residents through local media and the Henry County website, www.henrycountyva.gov. Nominations were based on the candidate’s personal efforts and active involvement in helping promote the quality of life in Henry County.

Chaney is the 14th recipient of the award. Previous recipients of the honor include Dr. Calvin Rains, Bill Adkins, Clay Campbell, Mary McGee, Charles Bradshaw, Bob Petty, the Rev. Thurman Echols, Nancy Bradshaw, Mary Jordan, Pat Ross, Claude Cobler, Beatrice Bullard, and Barry Nelson.